Confessions of a Beauty Slob

image_1358861947203580

Dear Diary,
You know I can’t hide anything from you, so I feel like it’s time to confess something I’m not very proud of: I’m a huge beauty slob. I ran into Valentine this morning – always in a good mood – she couldn’t stop complimenting me on my hat. Charming creature, if only she knew what that hat really stood for: I havent washed my hair in days and I’m too busy lazy to do something about it.
No one can imagine how much that hat saved my life (and my dignity) that day. But honestly, I wasn’t expecting any compliment. Sometimes I get days like these, when nothing seems to go right and I trick my way into looking decent in the outside world.
Major existentialist question though: have you entered the dark side of the force when everyday is one of these days?
Yesterday I opted for the last-minut tactic of only ironing the part of my shirt that will show under my interview suit – and I got the job. Ive also adopted the thigh high boot trend, not because I find it stylish but mostly because it covers up my old laddered stockings.Dont even get me started on lingerie, the days of La perla and Aubade are long gone and I quit sexy lingerie each winter. Actually, I quit underwear altogether this week as I have failed to find a surviving clean pair in my wardrobe.

Dear diary, It is such a relief to finally admit to all of my shameful secrets – thank God nobody reads this! I am a lost soul, this simply cannot go on. I have decided to put an end to those nasty habits this year and become a real beauty queen. Wish me luck!

PS: So much about new year resolutions, I’m already planning on patching my crackled nail polish with a red felt-tip for my date tonight.
* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

Cher Journal,
Nous n’avons pas de secrets l’un pour l’autre et c’est bien pour ça qu’il faut que je t’avoue que parfois, le jour, je suis un vrai escroc. J’ai croisé Valentine, toujours de bonne humeur, et figure-toi qu’elle a eu un mot gentil pour le chapeau que je portais ce matin. Si j’avais su qu’un jour, un morceau de feutrine me rendrait un si grand service … Car, vois-tu, mes cheveux n’étaient pas présentables au grand air. Y a des jours, comme ça. Le problème, c’est que ce genre de jour connait une fréquence de répétition bien trop élevée pour ma seule petite vie. Plus ça va, pire c’est ! Je ne repasse plus que le devant de mes chemises, surtout quand je sais que je vais porter une veste. Je mets des bottes, quand mon collant est filé en dessous du genou. Je te passe le chapitre sur les sous-vêtements. Je laisse à Charles le privilège de penser que c’est pour lui que je ne mets plus de culotte. La vérité, c’est qu’il est temps que je fasse tourner une machine …
Non, vraiment, Journal, j’espère que cette confession ouvre une nouvelle ère de la Raison triomphante.

PS : Ok, à partir de demain, parce que là, je sors, … et je pense que je vais rattraper mon vernis écaillé par un petit coup de marqueur-feutre.

Laisser un commentaire

